The European Institutions

The EU has 5 institutions, each with a specific role :

The European Parliament, directly elected by the citizens of the Member States. Meets at its headquarters in Strasbourg (plenary sessions), Brussels (parliamentary committees and additional plenary sessions) and Luxembourg (administrative services).

The Council of the EU, the main decision-making centre, it represents the governments of the Member States. Every Member State has a permanent team in Brussels (representatives). The Presidency of the Council is elected for 2,5 years. (can be renewed once).

The European Commission, the engine of the Union and its executive body. Sits in Brussels – offices in Luxembourg – representations in all the countries of the EU.

The Court of Justice, ensures compliance with Community law and the Court of Auditors controls the correct and legal utilisation of the Union’s budget. Headquarters: Luxembourg (all EU languages)

Alongside these 5 institutions are 5 important bodies : the Economic and Social Committee, the Committee of the Regions, the European Central Bank, the European Mediator and the European Investment Bank.


  Back to Brussels, 19 Municipalities