Brussels – The Iris as emblem

Posted on 19.04.2017

Belgian Institutions

What does this flag with a blue and yellow flower represent?

In 1970, the revision of the Belgian constitution created the three Belgian Regions we know today : the Brussels Region, the Walloon Region and the Flemish Region. The modification was effective only 20 years after, in 1989, with the establishment of Brussels’ 19 municipalities. Since then, Brussels possesses its own legislative and executive institutions.

In 1991, Brussels and its institutions chose the Iris as emblem : the town was originally built in the marshy plains of the Senne valley, where the Golden Iris grew.

Since then, it has been redesigned ! 

Fête de l'Iris, 6 & 7 May 2017

To kow more about our complicated history, visite our website where we've tried to make it understable to all

Brief history of Belgium 
The Belgian Institutions